New Jersey law takes drunk driving very seriously, and a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) can affect your life in many ways. These include a a variety of unexpected costs that could impact your household budget for years to come. What should you know about the cost of a DUI?
Court-imposed penalties include fines.
Even a first DUI conviction could lead to between $250 and $400 in fines. Further convictions could result in as much as $1000 in fines, and other factors could increase those fines even more. You may also find yourself responsible for additional charges in the process.
A DUI conviction could impact your career.
Depending on your career path, a conviction could have a serious impact on your ability to earn a living and support your family. Jail time or the terms of your parole may take you away from work, and a license suspension could make it difficult to travel to your workplace. For commercial truck drivers and others who spend time behind the wheel every day, a drunk driving charge could limit their ability to work or to find future employment.
Increased insurance rates can be a long-term cost of a DUI.
After a DUI conviction, drivers in New Jersey face significantly increased costs. In fact, according to Forbes, the average driver’s insurance rate could double in cost. This rate hike could impact your finances for several years after a conviction.
These costs are just a few of the ways that a DUI conviction could impact your life. Because of the serious penalties involved, it is important for drivers to take drunk driving charges seriously.